Kenny Ratty managed, Parkvilla under 17s found the keys to unlock the Kingdom side Killorglin in the semi final of the FAI under 17 cup last Sunday, when on the weekend that the Kerry town usually crowns King Puck there was no acting the goat from the ‘Villa boys.

The hosts dominated the early exchanges, and although ‘Villa had the majority of possession they had to wait until the closing stages of the first half to make that count on the scoreboard.

A dipping shot from Kian Ratty looped over the keeper, struck the bar and as Eoghan Heavy latched onto the rebound a Killorglin defender handled the ball. Tommy Buchanan stepped up and calmly drilled it home, for the only score of the opening period.

The second half couldn’t have started much better for the visitors, as they went two clear in the 47th minute.

Following a quick breakaway from defence Ratty gained possession on the right , he waltzed past the last defender and as the goalkeeper came out he slipped the ball under him for a cool finish.

The final goal for the winners came on the hour when a neat move down the left saw Shane Maguire float the ball in to Tommy Buchanan who controlled it, steadied himself and fired into the net past the defenders on the line.

Killorglin did pull one back but boosted by the experience of Heavey and Ethan Rathbone, who have won the competition before with St Kevins and Belvedere the Navan side saw it out.

Manager Ratty told Meath Live, ‘We prepared properly for this one, we went down the day before and stayed in Tralee so everything was in place for a big performance and the lads certainly delivered one.

‘Originally the match was meant to be played last March but the pandemic put paid to that and it created a problem in so far as we couldn’t carry on training and we didn’t know whether or not it would ever be played.

‘We probably could have won by more as their ‘keeper made at least three top class saves when we were one on one with him.

‘We have Mervue from Galway in the final, traditionally they are always strong but we’ll concentrate on getting our own preparations right.’

: Scott O’Sullivan, James Egan, Finn Murray (captain), Christian Nicolenco, Ethan Rathbone, Kian Ratty, Bradlee Connor-Baldwin, Eoghan Heavey, Shane Maguire, Louis Collins, Tommy Buchanan.