Kells Fianna Fáil councillor Sean Drew, a member of MCC since 2014, was elected as Cathaoirleach at this morning’s AGM.


An accountant by profession, Drew replaces outgoing FF man, David Gilroy.


Navan based Independent Francis Deane is the new Leas Cathaoirleach .


Cllr David Gilroy, the outgoing Cathaoirleach, made his final speech before the election. He reflected on how difficult a year it has been due to Covid19 and stated that “we did something, that was something to be proud of”, and thanked all the council staff and fellow councillors at Meath County Council.


There was cross party unanimous agreement for Gilroy’s hard and acknowledged the excellent role he played in the County Development Plan. Cllr Joe Fox (Fine Gael) noted that Gilroy’s family had been “steeped in public services” and that the County Development Plan was a “monument” to Gilroy’s work in local government.


Cllr Tommy Reilly (Fianna Fáil) proposed Kells’s Cllr Sean Drew (FF) for the position of Cathaoirleach and praised his professionalism and that his “approach to his community was second to none”. The nomination was seconded by Cllr Paul McCabe who stated that the community in Kells are delighted with Drew’s nomination.


Cllr Gerry O’Connor (Fine Gael) nominated Cllr Suzanne Jamal (FG) for the position of Cathaoirleach, claiming that Jamal was “calm, collected and strong” and that it is important to elect a woman as Cathaoirleach, especially as Meath County Council has a Woman’s Caucus.


Councillors overwhelmingly voted for Cllr Sean Drew as Cathaoirleach, with 23 votes for Drew, 12 for Jamal and 2 abstentions. Drew thanked the proposer, seconder and outgoing Cathaoirleach and told Jamal: “democracy is displayed by putting your name forward”.


Drew continued that he was a “very proud Kells man today” and outlined his plans as Cathoirleach, such as the County Development Plan, delivery of the rail line to Navan, promoting Meath as a “go to location”, delivering affordable and social homes in Meath, broadband roll out, tourism project and much more.


Cllr Francis Deane (Ind) was nominated as Leas-Cathoirleach, who had previously served as Mayor of Navan. Cllr Suzanne Jamal also put her name forward for this position. Deane was elected with 27 votes, to Jamal’s 10 votes with 2 abstentions.


Deane thanked everyone and encouraged people to shop local and said he had plans for businesses as they open up and that mental health for adults and children was one of his main priorities. He stated that “politics is a tough game, you get a lot of slack but it is a great honour to serve your county”.


Jamal congratulated Deane and told him after her 2nd loss that “you win some, you lose some, that’s democracy”.


Drew concluded that himself and Cllr Deane, “will work very well together”.