Gaeil Colmcille ……. 2-16
Wolfe Tones ………… 2-8

It may have been year late in arriving but the celebrations in Kells will ensure that the 2020 Feis Cup final was well worth waiting for after this eight point victory over Wolfe Tones in Navan yesterday

Fionn Reilly was the winners scorer in chief finishing with 2-3. His goals were the first scores his side registered in each half.

His 34th minute penalty, at the town end, came after a foul on Brian Hanlon.

That left it 2-8 to 0-7. Lar Wall’s side extended their lead with a string of fine points, moving 2-15 to 0-8 clear by the 58th minute.

In truth but for a heroic display of shot stopping by Tones David Nolan the Kells side would have had a lot more to spare, and this result is a real confidence booster for when the side clash again in the SFC later this month.

At the other end Justin Carry Lynch did very well to deny Cian O’Niell a 58th minute goal. Seamus Mattimoe chipped in with a brace of second-half points as Gaeil Colmcille continued to distance themselves from their neighbours.

Sub Tom Gavigan softened the scoreline for the ‘Tones with two late late goals from close range. In between those scores, Hanlon finished his tally with a fine point.

Reilly’s third minute goal was a fine solo effort at the hospital end having cut in from the wing.

Niall O’Reilly opened the ‘Tones’ account but they were playing catch-up for the rest of the half.

Gaeil Colmcille dominated the rest of the half moving five points clear twice, once in each quarter.

Fionn Ferguson was unfortunate to see his eighth minute goal attempt rebound off the crossbar.

Two Ryan Farnham points kept the Kells-men on the front foot. while a brace of Oisin Martin points left Wolfe Tones just two scores off the pace at the break, 1-7 to 0-6.

Ironically just as Kells lost the 2019 decider and won the 2020 version the Tones will hope do something similar as they have the 2021 final against Simonstown to come.

Scorers: Gaeil Colmcille – Fionn Reilly 2-3 (1-0 pen); Brian Hanlon 0-7 (2 45s, 1 forward mark); Ryan Farnham, Seamus Mattimoe (1f), Evan Sheridan 0-2 each.

Wolfe Tones – Tom Gavigan 2-0; Oisin Martin 0-2, Cian Ward (fs), Niall O’Reilly 0-2 each; Alan Lynam 0-1; Thomas O’Reilly 0-1.

Gaeil Colmcille – Justin Carry Lynch; Jonny Quigley, Paulie Tormay, James Reilly; Conal Courtney, Jordan Muldoon, Seanie Curran; Phillip Ward, Liam Ferguson (C); Evan Sheridan, Fionn Ferguson, Fionn Reilly; Seamus Mattimoe, Ryan Farnham, Brian Hanlon.Subs – Ahmed Lawal for Fionn Ferguson (51), Aaron Browne for Ward (57), Danny Muldoon for J Reilly (59), Cormac Mattimoe for Hanlon (60 + 3).

Wolfe Tones – David Nolan; Alan Lynam, Adam O’Neill, ConorSheppard; Niall O’Reilly, Shane Glynn, Eanna O’Kelly Lynch; Alan Callaghan, Padraic Diamond; Caolan Ward, Cian Ward, Thomas O’Reilly; Oisin Martin, Cian O’Neill, Saran O Fionnagain. Subs – Brughach O Fionnagain for O’Kelly-Lynch (17), Stephen Sheppard for Caolan Ward (34), Tom Gavigan for Diamond (50), Gearoid O’Brien for B O Fionnagain (56), Niall McLoughlin for N O’Reilly (59),

Referee –  Keith Sheerin (Drumconrath)