Trim …………  1-26
Ratoath …….. 1-25

All good things come to those who wait.

That old adage was proved yet again as Meath hurling aficionados enjoyed a titanic thrilling tussle when the 2020 Jubilee Cup decider was eventually played at Pairc Tailteann yesterday.

And it was skipper Alan Douglas who displayed some Dougclass as he steered the Reds to victory.

When regular free taker Brian Dowling went off injured Douglas took over that role and chanelled his inner TJ Reid to display pin point accuracy along with ice cold nerve when it mattered most.

He finished with eight points but his last two were truly crucial.

His seventh score – a 60-metre free into the hospital end levelled matters, 1-25-each, for the eighth time in a terrific contest.

From the puck out he gained possession and fired over what proved to be the match-winning score.

It was a victory that looked unlikely for most of the match as Ratoath looking to bridge a 58-year gap to their previous SHC success led for the majority of proceedings, they were 0-9 to 0-7 up t the break and had their cause helped when Cian Rogers netted at the clubhouse end.

That left Ratoath leading by 1-17 to 0-14. Despite playing into the not always helpful elements – the wind and the sun – Trim rallied.

Trim substitutions worked on the day with one of them Michael Cullen goaling in the 54th minute as excitement levels rose.

It was 1-20-all at full-time. Trim took the initiative in the added 20 minutes with points from Douglas and David Murtagh.

Ratoath despite some horrific wides looked to have one hand on the trophy with Rogers pointing twice late on to give his side the upper hand. Then Dougla discovered a phone box donned his SuperMan cape and strode to Trim’s rescue.

He was a deserving winner of the Man Of The Match award named in hour of Trim stalwart Harry Connor as in a game of many top class displays he was head and shoulders above the rest.

Scorers: Trim –  Alan Douglas 0-8 (2fs); Brian Dowling 0-5 (3fs, 1 65); Michael Dullen 1-1, Mikey Cole, Dylan Farrell, Mark Molloy 0-2 each; Diarmuid Higgins, James Toher (f), Ian Bermingham, James Murray, Conor Quigley, David Murtagh 0-1 each.

Ratoath – Padraic O’Hanrahan 0-13 (11fs); Cian Rogers 1-9; Daithi McGowan, Jack Lanigan, Bryan McMahon 0-1 each.

Trim – Charlie Ennis; Ciaran O’Rourke, Luke Moran, Gerard Dwane; Diarmuid Higgins, James Toher, Sean McGee; Mark Molloy, Dylan Farrell; Ian Bermingham, Ciaran Joyce, Alan Douglas (C); James Murray, Mikey Cole, Brian Dowling. Subs – David Murtagh for Joyce (ht), Ben Holden for Dwane (46), Conor Quigley for Cole (51), Subs in extra time -Daniel Coleman for Moran (63). Cole for Dowling (76)

Ratoath – Gearoid Crowley; Patrick Dowd, Ben McGowan, Conor McGill; Conor Ward, Darragh Kelly, Cian Kelly; Jack McGowan (C), Cormac Butler; Bryan McMahon, Padraic O’Hanrahan, Tom Fadden; Cian Rogers, Daithi McGowan, Gavin McGowan. Subs – Jack Lanigan for Gavin McGowan (ht), Padraic Byrne for Fadden (37), , Michael Cullen for Murray (46), Niall McLarnon for Ward (53) Subs in extra time – Niall Murphy for Butler (74), Sean Johnson for Lanigan (76).

Referee – Pat Gannon  (Killyon).