St Colmcille’s …….. 4-17
Ballinabrackey …… 2-10

Danny Quinn’s red card three minutes before the interval proved a major turning point in this SFC clash at Pairc Tailteann.

From Quinn’s departure until the finish, St Colmcille’s outscored Ballinabrackey by 3-11 to 1-3.

They outscored last year’s IFC winners by 3-5 to 1-2 after the second water break.

A noticeable feature of the winners success was the fact that eight different players got on the scoresheet.

Jeff Kavanagh’s 52nd minute goal was a top class effort.

Within seconds Ballinabrackey pounced on slackness in the ‘Cille’s rearguard leaving David Carroll to net and trimming the deficit to four points. Daly’s second goal flatlined lingering hopes of an upset.

Bracks ‘keeper Dean Pluck saved brilliantly from Ben Brennan at the expense of a 45 at the hospital end. St Colmcille’s ‘keeper Andrew Beakey pointed the subsequent award, one of three such scores he registered in the game.

Quinn wasn’t the only one to head down the tunnel early as ten minutes earlier ‘Cilles manager Michael Conlon was sent off for dissent at a decision over an incident involving Ben Brennan.

Ballinabrackey were 1-7 to 0-6 ahead at the break but the burden of being a man down proved too much for them to cope with.

Scorers: St Colmcille’s – Adam Daly 2-2 (f); James Conlon 0-5 (2fs); Graham Reilly 1-2; Jeff Kavanagh 1-0; Ben Brennan 0-3 (1f); Andrew Beakey 0-3 (45s); Conor O’Byrne 0-1, Liam Stafford 0-1.

Ballinabrackey – Damien Carroll 1-4 (3fs); Danny Quinn 0-4 (3fs); David Carroll 1-0; Seamus Curry 0-2 (1f).

St Colmcille’s – Andrew Beakey; Adam Lynch, Hugo Collins, Tomas O Hoistin; Carl Mullan, Cathal Hilliard (C), Stephen Breen; Conor O’Byrne, Jeff Kavanagh; Liam Stafford, David O’Byrne, Graham Reilly; Ben Brennan, James Conlon, Matthew Breen. Subs – Adam Daly for O’Byrne (ht), Danny McMahon for O Hoistin (42), Godfrey Echoya for Breen (42), Ruairi O’Grady for Kavanagh (55).

Ballinabrackey – Dean Pluck; Adam O’Brien, Nicky Judge, Michael Kearney, Sean Bannon, Derek Flynn, Richie Coffey; Chris O’Connor (C), Eric Clancy; Danny Quinn, Sean Coffey, David Carroll; Seamus Curry, Damien Carroll, Barry Thompson. Subs – Sean Kavanagh for B Thompson (38), Mark Coffey for Clancy (50).

Referee – Kieran Olwell (Moynalty)