Meath 1-12 Tyrone 1-11 Meath supporters had to survive a nerve-jangling last second of this game as a Tyrone free went narrowly wide, from a very scoreable position, before the Royals claimed the Tom Markham Cup for the fourth time. The teams traded early scores before Cormac Devlin pounced for the first significant breakthrough of the match. The Tyrone captain burst onto a through ball in the seventh minute, rounded the Meath goalkeeper, Oisin McDermott, and placed it in the net, as the Red Hands built a 1-4 to 0-3 lead. Cathal O’Brics team are made of stern stuff however and bounced back almost immediately with a goal of their own. Liam Kelly won a Tyrone kick-out, before picking out Oisín Ó Murchú who rifled it into the Tyrone net. Seán Emmanuel then levelled it, before a brace of Hughie Corcoran scores saw the Leinster champions take a narrow 1-7 to 1-6 lead into the break. Despite playing into a strong wind, Meath dominated the third quarter. McDermott kicked two 45s, while Ó Murchú added another to give their side a 1-11 to 1-8 lead at the second water break.




Tyrone began to amass wides, totalling 11 in the second-half, but nonetheless were able to close the gap, buoyed by their vocal support at Croke Park. A late Conor Owens free in injury-time looked set to force extra-time, but there was to another twist, with Meath breaking up the other end and Leonard firing over what proved to be the winning point. Tyrone had one late chance, but Owens shot wide from an easier free, and Meath held on for victory. Meath: Oisín McDermott (0-2, 0-2 ’45); Conor Ennis, Liam Kelly, Seán O’Hare; Tomás Corbett, John O’Regan, Killian Smyth; Paul Wilson, Jack Kinlough (0-1); Shaun Leonard (0-2), Seán Emmanuel (0-1), Conor McWeeney (0-1); Christian Finlay, Oisín Ó Murchú (1-2), Hughie Corcoran (0-3, 0-1f). Subs: Andrew Moore for Conor McWeeney (52), James Foley for Hughie Corcoran (58), Brian O’Halloran for Liam Kelly (61). Tyrone: Niall Robinson; Matthew Mallon, Ronan Fox, Callan Kelly; Hugh Cunningham (0-1, 0-1f), Shea O’Hare, Michael Rafferty; Ronan Donnelly, Ruairí McHugh (0-2); Gavin Potter, Paddy McCain, Ronan Strain; Ronan Cassidy (0-3, 0-2f), Cormac Devlin (1-1), Eoin McElholm (0-2). Subs: Conor Owens for Cormac Devlin (17-19 temp), Conor Owens (0-2, 0-2f) for Gavin Potter (HT), Jack Martin for Ronan Donnelly (32 temp), Noah Grimes for Paddy McCann (47), Brian Hampsey for Ruairi McHugh (58-59 temp), Ronan Molloy for Hugh Cunningham (58). Referee; Derek O’Mahoney (Tipperary)