The Oldcastle Credit Union held its AGM on Tuesday the 11th of January. They reflected on their AGM of 2021, where Mary Heery Flood stepped down as chairperson and was replaced by Susan O’Connor. Also in 2021, the Credit Union celebrated its 50th Anniversary and reflected the changes in the area and how the pandemic impacted the activities of the credit union.

At the AGM, Chairperson Susan O’Connor addressed the meeting. She regrated that the meeting had to be held online due to the increase of Covid cases and claimed it was moved online for “the interest of the staff”. She pointed out that 2021 was a “challenging year, savings have increased and lower saving limits are at €30,000”, which was a decision that they didn’t take lightly. “612 loans were given out this year and, in a year, where shopping local was the key message, people supported their credit union. Services have been online and face to face”.

O’Connor went on to say that they will be supporting three students for their scholarship draw, which will help burden the cost for their 3rd level education. The Credit Union will give these students a grant of €1000 each for three years. The lucky students were: Jamie Smith, Ronan Halpin, and Philip O’Dowd.

Elections also took place. Hayes Coughlan Doolan & Co. were elected auditors, Paul Smith was elected onto the Board Oversight Committee, Alan Clogher, Emma Fitzsimon, Mary Heery Flood and Pauline Hetherton were all elected Directors.

During the Q&A session, a question was raised on what the Oldcastle Credit Union is going to do about solving “Cronyism” in the credit union. O’Connor replied that “conflicts of interests prevent cronyism”.