Run by Meath County Council Cultural Services and supported under the Creative Ireland Programme, the Poetry in Irish Award was established in honour of poet Máire Mhac an tSaoi (1922-2021) one of Ireland’s foremost Irish language poets.

In addition to being a poet, Máire was a critic, translator, academic and scholar, and she lived in Navan for a number of years where she was a frequent visitor to Navan library. The award was open to practitioners of Irish language poetry in Ireland and winners of the award participated in a one-day Master Class with poet Louis de Paor who is the Director of the Centre for Irish Studies at NUI Galway.

Pictured above in Kells Library (L-R) was Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr. Mike Bray with Ciarán Mangan, County Librarian, Laoighseach Ní Choistealbha, award winner, Louis de Paor, poet, Brian Ó Tiomain, award winner, Joanne McCarthy, award winner, HK Ní Shioradáin, award winner, Nóirín Murphy, Irish Language Officer, Gormfhlaith Ní Shíocháin, award winner, Barry Lynch, Director of Service and Frances Tallon, Senior Executive Librarian.