St Brigid’s………………………3-15


Small margins in this Junior B final led to a big winning margin.

Ten minutes into the second half with St Brigids, who were always the better side on the day, led by five points when Slane’s Matt Tully set up Eanna Mooney for a goal chance, Mooney got his shot away but a posse of defenders smothered it and from that play the winners broke upfield and Fergal Ingram scored a goal.

From possibly being two in arrears the Boynesiders, who trailed 0-5 to 0-2 at the interval,went eight points down and the rest of the game was academic with sub Kyle Tallon’s late goal for Slane barely registering a ripple of applause.

The best team, and best by some distance, won yet two of their goals were of the gift variety, and at the same time the fact that Alan Harding scored five of the losers points and set up the goal show’s how the majority of the Slane side had an off day.

On the other hand Brigid’s slick movement and accurate shooting suggested they will comfortably hold their own in a higher grade next season.

Scorers: St Brigid’s – Cormac Browne 0-7 (4fs); Fergal Ingram 2-0; Joseph Blake 1-1; Luke Blake 0-2; Stephen Brown 0-1; Darach Geraghty 0-1; Michael Flood 0-1; Andrew Geraghty 0-1; David Gibney 0-1.

Slane – Alan Harding 0-5 (3fs); Kyle Tallon 1-0; Eoin Feeley 0-1.

St Brigid’s – Darragh Moore; Padraig Plunkett, Mark Gibney, Dylan Scully; Luke Blake, Michael Flood (c), Andrew Geraghty; David Gibney, Darach Geraghty; Cormac Browne, Kevin Gilsenan, Fergal Ingram; Stephen Brown, Dylan Briody, Joseph Blake. Subs – Jack Black for Brown (53), Donal Plunkett for P Plunkett (54), Hugh Fanning for Ingram (57), Shane Gilsenan for J Blake (58), Jamie Maguire for Browne (60).

Slane – Danny Carolan; Johnny McDonagh, Sean Martyn, Ben McDonagh; Niall Carolan, Francis Marry, Eoin Feeley; Jim Marry, Peter Martyn; Sean Murray, Alan Harding, Matt Tully; Conor Forde, Eanna Mooney, Evan Murray. Subs – Podge McGowan for E Murray (ht), Kyle Tallon for McDonagh (41), Daniel Forde for C Forde (49), Kevin Dunne for Murray (54), Josh Smith (54).

Referee – Patrick Clarke (Kilmainhamwood)