Ratoath just about clambered over the ‘Hill to claim another Keegan Cup success in Pairc Tailteann yesterday with Eamon Wallace leading from the back.

Wearing the number 6 shirt Wallace got two of four late first half  scores, that saw his side move to a 0-8 to 0-5 interval advantage.

Shortly after the restart Summerhill wing back and team captain Padraig Geraghty levelled the scores for third and final time.

Then  Ratoath surged again with a trio of points from Daithi McGowan (free), Jack Flynn and Eamon Wallace lift it 0-12 to 0-9 in the 53rd minute.

Diarmuid McCabe had a late goal effort smothered by the Ratoath defence and although the losers registered the games final two points they couldn’t force extra time although they had a very strong penalty claim waved away by referee Cormac Reilly.

Reilly then had cause to send off both managers after Summerhill’s Conor Gillespie shouldered Ratoath’s David Brady to the ground,

Scorers: Ratoath – Daithi McGowan 0-4 (3fs); Eamon Wallace 0-3; Bryan McMahon 0-2 (1f); Bobby O’Brien 0-1 (mark); Jack Flynn 0-1;  Cian Rogers 0-1;

Summerhill – Eoghan Frayne 0-4 (2fs); Barry Dardis 0-2 (fs); Conor Frayne 0-1; Diarmuid McCabe 0-1 (f); David Larkin 0-1; Padhraig Geraghty 0-1; Eamonn McDonnell 0-1.

Ratoath – Dara McPartlin; Ciaran O Fearraigh, Conor McGill (c), Ben Wyer; Brian Daly, Eamon Wallace, Gavin McGowan; Daithi McGowan, Ben McGowan; Cian Rogers, Jack Flynn, Keith McCabe; Conor Rooney, Bryan McMahon, Bobby O’Brien. Subs – Joey Wallace for B O’Brien (41), Cian O’Brien for Rooney (45), Padraig Byrne for J Wallace (58).

Summerhill – Tony McDonnell; Padraig Jennings, Ronan Ryan, John Lavelle; Padhraig Geraghty (c), Ross Ryan, Adam McDonnell; Micheal Byrne, Adam Flanagan; David Larkin, Diarmuid McCabe, Kevin Ryan; Conor Frayne, Conor Lyons, Eoghan Frayne. Subs – Barry Dardis for C Lyons (ht), Eamonn McDonnell for Dardis (35), William Ryan for A McDonnell (54),

Referee – Cormac Reilly (St Mary’s)