Cork………………………. 0-19

For most of this Allianz league, division 2 clash. in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, the visitors were playing second fiddle  but three glorious goals eventually saw Colm O’Rourke’s charges get their new gaffers league campaign off to a winning start.

Cork arrived into the game on the back of that impressive McGrath Cup win, established on three successive victories in which they’d registered the remarkable total of 7-40.

In fairness they knocked over a fair total again today but Shane Walsh, Jordan Morris and Cillian O’Sullivan rattled in the games three crucial scores.

The Walsh goal came on seven minutes, the Meath corner forward muscling  past Sean Meehan and in along the end line before firing confidently past Micheál Aodh Martin.

It might have been even better for Meath, Martin forced into a brilliant 29th minute double save from, first, Darragh Campion and, then, Jordan Morris.

In making those splendid stops the Cork custodian was only matching the earlier feat of Meath keeper – Harry Hogan –who brilliantly turned a Mattie Taylor shot out for a ‘45’ after a flowing Cork attack on eighteen minutes.

At the break Meath trailed by two, 0-11 to 1-6 despite having wind advantage in the opening period

In the 53rd minute Jason Scully intercepted an Ian Maguire pass, galloped into the danger are before offloading to Morris who fired in the second goal.

Eight minutes later O’Sullivan hit goal number three and the Royals comfortably saw out the win.

An excellent start to the league in a match in which the winners took time to find their feet but were clinical in finishing their goal chances once they did.



Scorers: Meath – S Walsh 1-7 (0-2 frees, 0-2 marks), J Morris 1-2, C O’Sullivan 1-1, M Costello 0-2 (0-1 free), C Hickey and J O’Connor 0-1 each. Cork – S Sherlock 0-14 (0-10 frees, 0-1 45), C Og Jones 0-2, M Shanley, M Taylor and S Powter 0-1 each.

Meath: H Hogan, J O’Hare, M Flood, C Hickey, E Harkin, D Keogan, D O’Neill, R Jones, D McGowan, C O’Sullivan, J Scully, D Campion, J Morris, M Costello, S Walsh. Subs: A O’Neill for D O’Neill (half-time), H O’Higgins for O’Hare (49 mins), J O’Connor for Harkin (49 mins), D Moriarty for McGowan (52 mins), S Crosby for O’Sullivan (65 mins).

Cork: M A Martin, M Shanley, D O’Mahony, K O’Donovan, S Meehan, R Maguire, M Taylor, C O’Callaghan, I Maguire, E McSweeney, S Powter, B O’Driscoll, C Og Jones, B Hurley, S Sherlock. Subs: T Walsh for O’Donovan (44 mins), J O’Rourke for McSweeney (52 mins), L Fahy for O’Dwyer (54 mins), C O’Mahony for Hurley (61 mins), R Deane for Powter (65 mins).

Referee: B Cawley (Kildare).