A thunderstorm warning has been issued for Meath and six other counties.

The status yellow alert will come into effect at 1pm and is valid until 7pm this evening.

Met Éireann says intense showers, scattered thunderstorms and possible hail may result in hazardous travelling conditions and some spot flooding.

The warning is also valid for Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Wexford and Wicklow.